This time last year…

2013 was a good year for me. It was the year I turned 21, my fiancé and I had officially been living together for a year, I got my license on my first try and even bought my own car. Of course I was having loads of fun, especially finally being able to party it up with my older cousins. I was hitting the bars (I’m such a boring person I don’t drink so it didn’t make sense to go but I still had a good time) with my friends and family, took a shot here and there for birthday celebrations… Most of this took place in the month of July.

Then August came around… But my period didn’t. I took two tests and they both came out positive. I was pregnant. We were going to have a baby. I hadn’t even been 21 for a whole 2 months and I was already expecting, and you want to know how I felt? Lucky. I felt so much within those 30 mins from when I took those two tests. I was going to have a baby, I was pregnant! I mean could you imagine having that sink into your mind? I was thrilled! I could surely say that I felt like I was intoxicated with joy once those blue lines on the test showed.

My fiancé on the other hand was, of course, in shock… Scared I can say. It was a little difficult for me after I showed him the results; I was terrified that he wasn’t happy like I was. All I could do is smile and laugh (I tend to do that when I’m nervous)… Maybe I cried a little. I sat at the edge of the bed, with my emotions quickly changing from excitement to fear because my fiancé did not react nearly the same way as I did or as I hoped he would. He then but his arms around me and kissed me and we looked at each other… I wasn’t afraid, he was there, we laughed and kissed some more; we were going to have a baby!

Now a year later, I sit here looking at our beautiful daughter and I can feel it all again. I can feel the joy and excitement from when I saw those blue lines. I’m so happy where I am right now; I’m so blessed for how my life has turned out so far, and who I have in it. I love being a mother, a young mother to be exact, I can say it’s what I live for. I take pride in being a mommy, all I want to do is be here for Sophia. I want to love her; I want to watch her grow. I want to teach her and I want to learn from her. I’m so excited for the years we will be spending together. Love it or hate it…

X’s & O’s

Sophelys

Leave a Reply

