You Are You…

You are perfect exactly as you are.
With all your flaws and problems, there’s no need to change anything. All you need to change is the thought that you have to change.

I hope Sophia realizes that no matter what she will be judged. No matter what people will always look at her and criticize her for every move or decision she makes–even if that decision or move was the right one. I want Sophia to know that maybe there will be people who simply won’t like her. There will be people who love her. There will be times when she will take a step back and judge herself… but one thing I want to express to her–something I want her to always remember–is to never change who she is for anything or anyone. She needs to know that there is no one in this world like her, like you, like me, like your next door neighbor. We’re all individuals; and that we should take pride in. We need to take pride in all our flaws, in all our mistakes we have made and for those we will make.

I’d have to admit… sometimes, a lot of the time actually, I care about what people think. When I found out I was pregnant, I was scared that I was going to be a disappointment (of course I did disappoint a few people, being young and pregnant in many peoples POV isn’t such a good idea). Sometimes I even wonder what or how they think of me as a mother–not that I really care about that, Sophia’s opinion really matters most (SN: I actually think I’m doing a pretty damn good job at this; I was definitely made for this life, because I love it!) Basically, I need to realize that whatever people may think of me, I must simply shrug off. I need to let go of constantly worrying about the next persons opinions. If I keep thinking this way, then what will I look like telling Sophia to do the opposite? I want to be an example for my daughter (in certain areas, I wouldn’t want her to pick up bad habits of mine).

Sophia needs to understand that she is the only person who can control her life (well, her father and I will have a say in it for a while of course). She is the only person who will know what she wants, what she needs, and what she needs to do to get there. If she needs a little push, or some advice, then that’s completely fine… but no one should influence her decisions. No one should make her feel like she needs to change. I am me. You are you. Sophia is Sophia… that she will need to understand and I will do everything I can to help her do so.

X’s & O’s

Sophelys

Leave a Reply

